« back to From the Frontline home

CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2008 finalists announced

The finalists in the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2008 Competition were announced today. The competition is in its 13th year. The winners will be anounced in Accra, Ghana on 19 July,
Announcing the finalists, Azubuike Ishiekwene said: ""I have followed the CNN MultiChoice Awards for the past four years and watched them grow steadily to become the gold standard of excellence in journalism awards on the African continent, especially for young professionals who want to make a difference. Increasingly, the entries are speaking to the continent's needs, and the echoes are far-reaching." link
The full list of 23 finalists representing 14 countries reads as follows. I've added links where possible.
Lucas Ajanaku, TELL Magazine, Nigeria Barbara Angopa, NTV, Uganda Deji Badmus, Channels Television, Nigeria Marjorie Copeland, Freelance for Marie Claire, South Africa Kennedy Gondwe, Freelance for Hone FM, Zambia John Grobler, Freelance for The Namibian, Namibia Israel Laryea, Joy FM, Ghana Fernando Lima, Jornal Savana, Mozambique Emmanuel Mayah, Sun Newspaper, Nigeria Mwondoshah Mfanga, The Guardian, Tanzania Richard Mgamba, Sunday Citizen Newspaper, Tanzania Peter Moyo, e.tv, South Africa Bamuturaki Musinguzi, The EastAfrican Newspaper, Uganda Mutwiri Mutuota, Kenya Times, Kenya Boniface Mwangi, The Standard , Kenya Koumouréoua Issa Napon, Radio Télévision du Burkina, Burkina Faso Evaline Ngono, Cameroun Radio Télévision, Cameroun Daniel Nkrumah, Daily Graphic, Ghana Godwin Nnanna, BusinessDay, Nigeria Nassima Oulebsir, Le Jeune Indépendant, Algeria Hopewell Rugoho-Chin'ono, Television International, for Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation, Zimbabwe Seyoum Tsehaye, Eritrea Sasha Wales-Smith, Special Assignment, SABC, South Africa link